Why Do We Still Operate From an Ego-Driven Response When We Are Upset?

ASHLEY CARINO 🌻
9 min readOct 1, 2023

Too many times in the dating world, I have heard people say this is the way I am not changing for anybody.

Unsplash Image By : Caleb Ekeroth

It seems to me we live in a society where some men and women are too proud to admit if they’re wrong, I see this trend, especially in young couples. It takes a different level of maturity to admit your faults and doing so would save so much time and emotional energy. Our pride and ego get in the way of establishing healthy connections with one another. Like even the dating scene is a shit show because of this power struggle dynamic.

Back then I had trouble with communication and admitting when I was wrong. If I was hurt by someone’s actions I became immune to just ignoring it in hopes that it would change. Of course, as I got older and more mature I realized that I needed to admit my faults more and state when I didn’t like something that hurt my feelings. My advice to you is just because you never admitted to others when you were wrong back then does not mean you can’t practice saying I’m sorry now. Say sorry to your kids or spouse for forgetting something or just being wrong because it teaches them accountability. Accountability for negative behavior shows growth and maturity. When people tell me my kids are so well-mannered and polite it’s a compliment and a reminder that I am doing a good…

--

--

ASHLEY CARINO 🌻

Life Style & Mental Health Writer. I love to read and write. I’ll follow back!